ATC…New Heights Charter

Dear New Heights 6th and 8th Graders,

It was such a pleasure to meet with you;  thank you for having me.  I was pretty impressed with your questions and am very much appreciative of your enthusiasm.  I hope that you were able to take something from my talk today.  After leaving you, I thought of a few more general things that I want to share with you.

1.  Let me just say reading and writing are your keys to the world.  Anything that you ever want to know, you can find out by reading.  All of the knowledge you might ever desire can be found in the written word.  It is so important that you nurture your love for reading now.   Read widely.  Read what you love.  But also, read what challenges you.  Read something that you never thought you would like.  The same with writing.  Write often.  Revise always.  Write in as many different genres as you can.  Writing is the key to translating your knowledge for others.  It is a way to tell people who you are.  If you can learn to write well, you will also become a good speaker and a strong critical thinker.  These are the most important skills that you can ever master in life.

2.  Don’t be afraid to be smart. When you think you got a subject all figured out, search for the one thing that you don’t know.  Always look for new ideas that are interesting to you.   Take an active role in what you learn.  Get used to speaking up and speaking out.

3. Finally, when it comes to your education, the harder you work now, the easier it will be later.  Don’t wait until high school to step your game up.  Do it now and by the time you get to high school, you will be way ahead of the curve.  I am not saying that you won’t always be challenged.  In fact, if you are doing your part to educate yourself, then learning should always be a challenge for you.  I am just saying that a little extra “elbow grease” now, as my mother and grandmother call it, will make things so much easier and more enjoyable later.

Those are my words of wisdom, and they have carried me far.  I will be checking in with Mrs. Key to see what you all are up to from time to time.

Keep Reading and Writing!

L. M. Davis

P. S. Guess how many times I revised this blog. 😉

Leave a comment

Filed under Absolutely True Confessions of a Full-Time Author, Anatomy of An Author

What do you think?

