Absolutely True Confessions…Crafting the Author Persona

So, first, let me say that last night I attempted to draw pictures for potential costumes from my book: namely the Bastion’s robes and the P. E. suit.  Unfortunately, the pictures looked nothing like the images in my mind and I refuse to do the ideas the great disservice of posting such mangled representations of them.  I will, however, continue to work on them and maybe I can get some pics posted soon.  (Alternatively, maybe I can talk to my friend who does costume design and she will do it for me.  *rubbing chin and chuckling with machiavellian glee*).  Moving along….

These days, there are a lot of different ways to try and get your name, as an author, out there.  Blogs, twitter, facebook, direct email marketing, and probably a dozen more that I haven’t even thought of yet.  Each of these mediums offers an opportunity to communicate who you are as an author and what your work is about.

Of the ones that I listed, I have a twitter feed,  a facebook page, and, of course, a blog.  In using any of these tools, I am always thoughtful about what I post and what I say.  I post on topics relevant to the YA/reading world.  I post on topics related to my own experience as an author.  I post on other news bits that I find neat and interesting.  I don’t post about arguments that I have with my friend, or with a lot of profanity, or about any material that is absolutely unsuitable to the audience that I am trying to reach.  I am always mindful that I am working each day to expand my audience of tween and teen followers.  What I am getting at here is that in cultivating your author persona (as close to or as far away from your actual self as that persona might be), it is important to keep the message consistent across the interwebs.  If you write children’s books, you don’t want to have profanity-laden twitter posts associated with your name, unless, of course, you are this guy.

I think there are some that might feel that such self-editing is inauthentic or fake.  Like I was saying about choice of attire, I don’t think that it comes off as inauthentic, if it is true to who you are.  I think that regardless of what writers write about, how we write about it extends out of the core of our beings.  In using social media, it is important to stay true to the spirit of what you write, and–by virtue of the transitive property, I think–if you what you write comes from your core and your social media is in keeping with the spirit of what you write, then it will not ring false.  And importantly, when you transition from being a writer to an author, your social media becomes this extension of your professional self.  As wonderful as it is to finally have the dream of seeing your words in print come true, being an author is a business and it is important to think of it as such.

Some food for thought.

Leave a comment

Filed under Absolutely True Confessions of a Full-Time Author, Anatomy of An Author

What do you think?

