Absolutely True Confessions…: Book Festivals

This weekend will be devoted to the Decatur Book Festival.  I have some running around to do today to get prepped.  Plus, I have to drop off books this evening.  They only asked for 20 copies, but I am hoping to sell more than that.  I have devised a couple of different giveaways on Facebook and Twitter and I am generally trying to figure out ways to fill the seats (though I am not even sure that there will be seats; I guess I will see the set-up tonight) for my reading–there is nothing that I dread more than a reading where no one shows up.  Those thoughts are the stuff of nightmares.

Dragon*Con is another huge event that is happening in ATL this weekend.  30,000 Sci-fi/fantasy fans; I would have loved to be at that one as well.  In fact, I submitted the paperwork to be considered an invited guest pass, but I was not selected.  I think that I am not well-known enough yet, and I don’t have the fan-base to warrant “Special Guest” status.   *shaking my fist*  Next year, Dragon*Con, next year.

Barring invitation to these festivals, there are frequently opportunities to personally purchase space to exhibit your work.  But for Dragon*Con, such spaces cost a whopping $500 or close to it.  That just wasn’t going to happen.  Not when I only have one book to sell.  Now, next year, when I have two and maybe t-shirts, a video game, and a movie contract…*rubbing chin*.  So, I will just do the DBF this year, though I may hit the parade tomorrow to hand out bookmarks.

Over the past year, I have found that exposure is definitely the name of the game.   First big difference between being a writer and an author: As a writer, I wrote for my own amusement.  Sometimes I shared with others, sometimes I just kept my work all to myself, and it did not matter if no one else ever read it.  As an author–and a new author at that–self-promotion is the name of the game.  And that has been a real challenge for me, because I am really a “let the work speak for itself” kind of girl.  Thing is, the work can speak all it wants, but that’s worthless if no one is listening.  Getting in front of potential readers, having a chance to talk about and read from your work, is really important for the process of raising awareness–especially if you do not have the benefit of a big publishing company machine behind you.  And surprise, surprise, I have found that I just love getting in front of a crowd of new  potential readers and sharing my book that I love so much.  It’s actually quite exhilarating.

If you are in Atlanta this weekend, I would love for you to stop by my reading.  Find more info here:  http://www.decaturbookfestival.com/2011/authors/detail.php?id=339.  See you there!

Leave a comment

Filed under Absolutely True Confessions of a Full-Time Author, Anatomy of An Author, Writing

What do you think?

