Under the Wire…

Just in time, I am posting a seventh blog for this month; thus beating my record for blogs for a month.  But this is not a real blog; it is kind of cheating because it’s just to set up what I am going to try to do for the next month.

For the next month, I am going to try and write about what it is like to be an author, which is different from being a writer.  What do I mean by that?  I mean that there are a lot of people who write.  Some write as a hobby.  Some write with aspirations of being published one day.  But, when you finally cross that threshold and become a published author or someone who is trying to make a living off of your writing, things really change, and that’s what I am going to write about.  I am going to write about the business of being an author.  I will call it  my “Anatomy of an Author” series or “30 Days in the Life”, or something.  Nope, I’ve got it. I will call it the “Absolutely True Confessions of a Full-Time Author” aka “Anatomy of An Author”.

Each day I will write about what I am doing that day as a part of this career.  I think that is an aspect that a lot of writers don’t talk about:  what the work of this career–besides the actual writing–looks like.  The distance between releasing your first book and becoming a best seller.  For a precious few that is a two-step journey.  (My book was released -> Yay! I am on the NYT bestsellers list.)  For most of us though, the trek is definitely much longer than that.  This won’t be a step-by-step, do this and you too can go from  being a writer to an author, type deal.  It will be more of me chronicling the daily ins and outs of being a published but still relatively unknown author (because it ain’t all movie deals and Oprah–at least not yet)  😉 .

I admit, I have chosen to do this 30 day blogging challenge now because the next couple of weeks are going to be jam-packed with authorly good times, so I should have plenty to write about.  I hope by the end that writers who are aspiring to become authors will learn something new about what that  can look like.  I hope by the end to prove to myself that I can blog for 30 days straight.

So the challenge begins on 9/2.  Why the 2nd?  That will take me from the Decatur Book Festival in Georgia all the way through the Orange County Book Festival in California.  Book festival book ends for my personal blogging challenge.  I like the symmetry of it. 

So it’s time to get pumped, because come Friday, ready or not, here I go!

Leave a comment

Filed under Anatomy of An Author

What do you think?

