Updates…Ramblings of a Writer with the “Block”

First, I have to stop making promises about when I will post things. Making those promises of late has generally meant breaking those promises.

Touring has been really great so far. I have had some really wonderful audiences that have contributed to some great conversations. I have some really great pictures from the events, but I am still in the grips of my technical difficulties. Have one more signing schedule before the holiday. Will keep an update on outings in the New Year.

I did something that I should not have done. I printed out the manuscript for book #2 and I began to read it. This is a big no no, because in seeing it in print on the page, the first thing that I want to do is to go into major editing mode. Because of the condition of the draft, that is not what I need to be doing right now. What I need to be doing, which is actually the reason that I printed the draft out in the first place, is figuring out what other elements I need to add so that the story makes sense.

This novel has been interesting to write so far. Without giving away too much of the plot of the first, I have to juggle three different story lines: Nate’s, Charlie’s, and Panteria’s. I am trying to make sure that I don’t neglect any of the three. I already know that this book is going to be longer than the first.

Well, I know this is rather discombobulated….I will try for something more focused next time.   In fact, I have an idea.  Join me over here.

Talk to you soon!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Updates…Ramblings of a Writer with the “Block”

  1. I had to laugh when you mentioned printing out book #2 and reading it. I know the feeling, doing the very same thing only two months ago. Going over a 3rd or 5th draft typically revives bad feelings (http://jaredjohnsmith.wordpress.com/2010/09/07/30000-words-later/)

    Good luck on your “balancing,” and I’m pleased to hear your readings have been going over well. Keep blogging. You got a strong one.

What do you think?

