Soccer Tryouts

Ok.  I know I haven’t posted in a couple of days and there is a reason for that.  Here’s the thing.  I tried out for the soccer team anyway.  Even though my parents said no.  And now, I am in a lot of trouble.

Tryouts started yesterday. There were cuts last night and then a second round of tryouts today.  I thought that it would be ok, because parents only have to sign a permission slip if you make the team. I thought that if I didn’t make it, they would never know. On the other hand, if I did make it and they saw how careful I had been, maybe I would be able to persuade them to let me stay on the team.

I had it all worked out in my mind. I would be really careful, after all, I know how to do that.  It would be okay.  At least, that’s what I thought.

As you have probably guessed, it could not have gone more wrong. Well, I made it past the first rounds of cuts.  Came home last night and mom and dad never suspected a thing.  Today, though, things just fell apart.

See. What happened was…. Well, I’m just going to say it. I kind of broke a kid’s leg. Well, it’s not broken. It’s fractured. He’s going to need a cast. I didn’t do it on purpose. I was being so careful.

Here’s what happened. We were both going for the same ball and we just ran into each other. It didn’t seem like we hit each other that hard. I mean. I did fall down and my arm did really hurt. But after a couple of seconds, I was fine. But this kid, he fell down and he stayed down. Funny thing is, this kid is huge. Bigger than Ray, and Ray is way taller than me and he weighs more than me too.

Anyway, they had to call an ambulance, which means that they had to call parents. They wouldn’t let me just leave with Ray, even though I was fine. I didn’t want them to call my mom and dad. I didn’t even want to think about what kind of trouble I was going to be in. But I couldn’t stop them from calling.

They are downstairs right now discussing my punishment.  Don’t be surprised if this is that last time I post in a while….

Ris just came in. I was expecting her typical “told-you-so” attitude, but she was actually pretty nice. She said she understood. Sometimes Ris can be ok.

Leave a comment

Filed under Meet Nate, Writing, YA Lit

What do you think?

