First Day of School

Tomorrow is the first day of school and MAN am I nervous.

I guess maybe I should start with a little about me. My name is Nate. I guess that’s pretty obvious, and tomorrow is my first day at Greendale Middle School. I will be in sixth grade. That may not seem like a big deal to you, but it’s a very big deal to me. See, I have been home-schooled all of my life. Just me and my sister, Larissa, (Ris, for short. Oh, and Nate is short for Nathanial) at home with our mom and sometimes our dad. Not that our dad is only there sometimes. Just that he sometimes taught us instead of mom.

Why home school? My parents thought that it was best, at least at first. There were certain things that they didn’t think we could learn in a regular school. I guess that is true.

Last spring though, they finally said that we could go to public school. So Ris and I are enrolled at Greendale Middle, and tomorrow is the first day….

I am kind of excited. I know. I know. I’m not supposed to be excited about the first day of school, but I am. Truth is, I am a little scared too. I wonder what the kids will be like. I wonder if I will make any friends. I wonder if the classes will be hard. I wonder if we will make any mistakes. I wonder if they will be able to tell.

Leave a comment

Filed under Meet Nate, Uncategorized, Writing

What do you think?

