On Letting Go…

I am getting towards the end of this process.  I have revised the manuscript to the end, all that is left is to go through, type the revisions and send it off to copy editing.  Yet, for about a week now, my pace has been dragging and dragging, and I feel somewhat afraid. 

In part, I am afraid because this process is always hard for me.  It is hard for me to let a piece of writing go, to let it out into the world to fend for itself.  I want to keep it close to me, to perfect it so that it will withstand any sort of critical eye.  In a way, I guess that I am protecting myself too.  My writing is my vision, my mind and soul on paper;  to critique it is to critique me.  I know that it is a bit of the artist’s cliche, but there it is;  that is why I am afraid. 

Don’t get me wrong, I have been rejected before…plenty of times.  I am getting used to the sting and learning to let it roll off of my back.  Still, with each piece, it is still hard to find that moment when it is right to let it go.  To know that I have done my best with it, and to lay it bare for others to engage and enjoy (hopefully). 

When do you reach that magic moment?  How do you know when something is done?

More on this later.  I haven’t said it all yet.

Leave a comment

Filed under My Writing Process

What do you think?

